Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is my third attempt to post this, as WordPress has been playing up on my phone.  Hence my lack of posts.  Plus I have not been doing a lot of postings as I am waiting for my new-style blog/website.  More about that later.

Now that our “Indian Summer” has ended and we are well an truly in autumn, my sad and food-obsessed mind turns to dumplings!

Audrey, my Mum used to make the most wonderful dumplings baked or boiled/steamed and I have done the same for years.  Mr G loves them and I can always secure a satisfied smile on his face if I tell him that I have made a stew and dumplings.

Since I have been eating a no-added fat, whole-food, plant-based diet I have not had cause to make any of these satisfying little mounds of filling winter-warming loveliness.  The challenge is to make them without fat.  Hmmm.

Mr G likes his dumpling steamed/boiled, so I duly did this.  Who am I to upset him?  I am also certain that you could also bake them, or put them into the stew and pop it in the oven so you get a hybrid – part steamed and part baked.

We love dumplings so this makes about 12-16 cellulite-speckled ones!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Cups Wholewheat Flour (for a lighter texture you would use wholewheat pastry flour)
  • 2 Tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp Salt or Herbamare
  • 1/2 Tsp Black Pepper
  • 1 Tsp Dried Herbs or spice (I used smoked paprika for these ones)
  • 4 Tbl Sp Nutritional Yeast Flakes
  • 2 Cups Unflavoured Plant Milk
  • 1 Tsp Apple Cider Vinegar

Method:

In a mixer (or by hand) combine and mix all the dry ingredients.  Mix the wet ingredients and pour into the dry ones and mix until they form a clump around the beater.  If too wet add some additional flour.  It should be a bit like a bread dough.

Next – wet your hands (why?  This prevents the sticky mixture coating your hands), and pinch large walnut sized pieces and make into balls.

To cook – Drop into the simmering soup and cook with a lid on for 20 mins.  If you try doing this in the oven – please let me know.  Just ensure that the temperature is hot enough that the liquid is bubbling, or else they will not cook well.

For the stew – I just cut up some onions, carrots, peeled turnips, tin of rinsed butter beans (you could use any bean or pulses) cubes of butternut squash, 2 x tsp of Herbs de Provence and 2 crushed cloves of garlic.  To that I added a cup of  white wine (optional) and 2 cups of veggie stock and bring to the boil and simmer for 10 mins, until veggies are softening.

Just prior to initial cooking.

Just prior to initial cooking.

You can then thicken with a roux based sauce – I just added 2 Tbl Sp of whole-wheat flour to a cup plant-milk with some mustard and some seasoning and blended and added it to the stew.  You can add some more plant-milk, stock or water as you cook it for another 10 mins until you have a nice gravy/sauce.  Taste and adjust seasoning.  Add the dumplings when the sauce is still a little thin (as the dumplings will absorb some of the liquid and the veggie are just about cooked).

Then pop in those bad-boy dumplings, clamp the lid on and leave on a gentle simmer for 20 minutes.

After simmering for 20 mins - The dumpling will have puffed up nicely

After simmering for 20 mins – The dumpling will have puffed up nicely

The dumplings will be quite dense, but that is due to them being made with whole-wheat flour.  They will “stick to your ribs” as Audrey used to say.  They will certainly provide you with a warming, filling, delicious and cheap meal.  This pot would serve about 6 portions maybe 8 – I’m not telling how long it lasted me and Mr G – Only that the dumpling secured his approval!

PS – This will re-heat on the hob (you may need to add a little water), or microwave.

