Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

When I was in South Africa this week on business, I tried to stick to my plant-based eating. (More on that later). I’d not stayed in this hotel before so had no idea what I would have available to me.

The chef did have a few plant-based dishes in the menu. One dish I had was so simple although I’m certain their version contained butter, cream and was served over white rather than wholemeal pasta.

So here is the version that I made for Mr G, the UK’s connoisseur of pasta dishes.

For 4 good sized portions:

Ingredients:

1 pack of Dried or Fresh whole-wheat Pasta (I used penne)

1x pack of Sieved Tomato Passata
1 x pack of Silken Firm Tofu, drained
1 x Medium Brown Onion, peeled and chopped
2 x Cloves of Garlic, peeled and chopped
1/2 cup of Pitted Black Olives (drained)
2 x Tsp Veg Stock Powder
2 x Tbs wholemeal Flour
2 x Cups of Cherry Tomatoes
1/2 Tsp Coarse Ground Black pepper
1/2 cup White Wine (optional)
1 Cup of Water (I used it to rinse out the Passata container).

Method:
Cook the pasta as per the packet instructions. While cooking make the sauce.

In a high speed blender place all the sauce ingredients except for the olives and cherry tomatoes and blend until smooth and creamy. It’ll be a somewhat pale pink. Place the sauce mixture into a saucepan over a medium heat until it thickens. Let it down with a little water if too thick and adjust seasoning.

Once the pasta is cooked, drain it and combine with the sauce and throw in the whole cherry tomatoes and olives. You can add some torn basil or oregano if you have any and top with some fake Parmesan.

