Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I had a look at a lot of supposed vegan blue cheese dressings – well they are not really blue cheese at all, just very savoury flavoured.

In the US – they do a salad which is just a wedge of iceberg lettuce which i had with a blue cheese dressing. I had the iceberg lettuce, all i needed was the dressing. Most of the recipes that i researched had loads of nuts in them. I used some tahini and some tofu to make what i think of as a creamy zesty dressing that has some of the characteristics of a blue cheese one.

The reason that I wanted to make this is that I have some very very good salad ingredients. The organic cucumber reminded me of what they tasted like as a child. The modern ones have no flavour. The tomatoes are similar. They have been grown outside. I don’t know

So, here is my first attempt at one:

Ingredients:

2 Tsp of Brown Miso paste

1/2 a cup of Tahini

1/2 Tsp Garlic Powder

1 Tbsp of Apple Cider Vinegar (you could use any white or wine vinegar)

1 Tbsp of Lemon Juice

1/2 pack of Silken Firm Tofu

2 Tblsp of Plant-Based Mayonnaise

Salt or Herbamare

1/4 Tsp Black Pepper

1/4 cup of water

Method:

In a bowl, mash up the tofu roughly with a fork (you want some small lumps to resemble the texture of a blue cheese dressing)

Add and mix in all the remaining ingredients except for the water. Taste and then decide if it needs letting down with the water, or needs more lemon juice.

Ideally chill before serving.

This is how i served it:

20130717-172914.jpg

