Tags

, , , ,

The humble onion is a real staple food in my house. I can make something if I have an onion, yet rarely do I promote the onion to a co-starring or leading role on my plate. I think it’s time it became more prominent. Here it becomes a co-star as a proper vegetable side dish in its own place.

So last night I made a quick supper of soft polenta (will blog in a moment), griddled cherry tomatoes, griddled slices of my cheese and onion pudding recipe

I thought that I needed something nice to go with this lot. As a kid I loved onions in any form, raw, simply shredded and steeped in vinegar with a salad as my father used to do on Sundays for tea or pickled but most of all fried. Mmmm. But how to fry them without fat? How to make them a bit more glam too?

Here’s an option:

Ingredients:
5 large White/Brown Onions, peeled and sliced
2 tsp Stock Powder
1 cup of water
1/2 cup White Wine (optional)
1/2 tsp salt or Herbamare
1/4 tsp Ground Black Pepper
1 Tblsp Balsamic Vinegar

Method:
In a med/large skillet or frying pan place the stock, 3/4 of the water and wine and mix as you bring to the boil.

Add the chopped onions and salt and pepper and cover and simmer for 10-15 until soft. The cover will speed this process up as the onions will steam. If the water evaporates add some more to the pan and cook until the water has almost gone and the onions are soft and unctuous. Add the balsamic vinegar and continue cooking until this has also been absorbed. The onions will be sort of caramelised with the syrup of the balsamic.

I served this with slices of cheese and onion pudding that I had left over and some griddled cherry tomatoes and some soft polenta. Wonderful comfort food.

