Tags

, , , ,

I have fond memories of spending time with my great aunt on my mother’s side. Great Auntie Doris. She was a formidable lady who was a widow and lived alone in a house in Greenford, Middx. My parents spent a lot of time with her, my uncle George and cousin June when my parents lived in London and my father worked for Hoovers at the famous art-deco Hoover Building on the Western Avenue I can recall trips with my Mum to see her, traveling almost the entire length of the central line through central London. She was a rather well known and successful piano teacher. If we had lived closer, I’d have learned the piano (one of my few regrets) as she used to take on pupils as soon as they knew their alphabet.

I recall a visit when she made a bacon and onion pudding – all steaming hot, with boiled new potatoes and a wonderfully salty gravy. I am sure that it was pretty unhealthy made with thick steamed suet pastry and bacon! What i recall to this day is that pungent smell of the onions as they cooked slowly in the steam.

So here is my updated version of that recipe – this time plant based Cheese and Onion, but you could easily vary the flavours. Without the bacon, of course! It is plant-based and something that you could serve either cold in slices or hot with a gravy and new potatoes, just like Great Aunty Doris must have served it to my Great Uncle George.

Why is this so quick? The “batter” is made in a blender and then the pudding is microwaved. Simple, plant-based magic. It is quite rich as it contains both tofu and nuts but a little goes a long way and I suggest serving it with lots of steamed baby new potatoes, and carrots, peas or sweet corn and a rich thick gravy.

For 6-8 portions

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups of Nuts (Almonds or Cashews)
1 1/2 cups of Porridge Oats
1 cup of Nutritional Yeast
1 pack of Silken Firm Tofu
1/4 cup Lemon Juice
1/4 cup water
2 tsp Dry Mustard Powder
1/2 Tsp Salt or Herbamare
1/2 Tsp Ground Black Pepper
2 Tsp Dijon Mustard
2 Cloves of Garlic (peeled)
2 Large White Onions
Herbs of your choice – I used 1/2 tsp dried thyme (it was raining and I wasn’t getting drenched to get fresh).

Method:

In a high powered blender blitz the nuts, oats and nutritional yeast until it resembles a fine ground flour.

Set dry ingredients aside in a bowl.

Add all remaining ingredients to blender and blend until you have a light creamy paste. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and blend thoroughly.

Pour into a Pyrex glass bowl or other microwave basin. Cover and cook on microwave high for 10-12 minutes depending on the wattage of your machine. It is done when a skewer comes out clean – just like a cake and the edges are coming away from the bowl. (You may get a slight crust on the top).

Allow to cool and turn out onto a plate, easing it out with a palate knife.

This is what it looks like when cooked and cooled.

20130730-223215.jpg

To serve – reheat in microwave for 1-2 mins.

Cut a slice and serve with booked new potatoes, veg and a mushroom gravy (to be blogged).

20130730-223406.jpg

