Tags

, , ,

Mr Gresham (my partner of 26 years) is a man who knows what he likes. He likes his food and lots of it, but loves Mayonnaise almost as much as he lives me (possibly more, sometimes).

So to make a plant-based oil, egg and preservative free mayo was a challenge. I tried lots of versions but I think this one gets the “Gresham Gold Standard”.

Personally I think it’s the flavourings that make the difference here. You can use English Mustard but mayonnaise is essentially a French sauce so Dijon Mustard is my preference.

Ingredients:
1 x Block of Silken Firm Tofu – deained (I like Clearspring organic tofu as it is white and smooth and not grainy like some – see picture).
2 tbls vinegar (I prefer the taste of red wine vinegar but just avoid malt vinegar and flavoured ones and balsamic is too strong. You can use all lemon if you want a more citrus flavour)
1 tbl sp lemon juice
1 generous tsp of Dijon Mustard
Salt
Pepper
Onion powder 1/2 tsp
Garlic powder 1/4 tsp

Blend till smooth and creamy in a high speed blender (oh no, here he goes on again about his blooming marvellous VitaMix blender). Well yes – i will do a post about it as I believe it’s the best investment in kitchen equipment I’ve ever made.

Taste and adjust seasoning.

Put into a clean glass (ideally as it keeps it nice and cold) jar and stick in the fridge. It won’t last long.

It will thicken slightly as it gets cold. It’ll keep for a week. The tofu may leak a little moisture – just pour off or mix it in.

You can add 1 tsp if finely ground chia seeds which will thicken it more but be careful not to mess up the creamy consistency. You don’t want to be picking chia seeds out of your back teeth!

20130619-183600.jpg

20130619-183803.jpg

