Tags

, , , , , ,

My Go-To Breakfast, quick, filling and utterly delicious and keeps me full till lunch

My Go-To Breakfast, quick, filling and utterly delicious and keeps me full till lunch

This is my go to smoothie for a quick filling and healthy breakfast. I also make it before i work out. It is filling.

If you are not looking to lose weight you can add some peanut butter which gives a great rich caramel taste when blended – but the trade off is the calorie load. I do this when I need a treat but not on a regular basis. Meridian do a great no salt peanut butter, by the way.

Ideally you do need a high speed blender like a vita mix.

Ingredients:
1 tbl sp of porridge oats
2 tsp of flaxseed meal
2 cups of plant milk (vanilla flavoured ideally)
1 banana
Vanilla extract – few drops if milk not vanilla flavoured
1 tbl sp of maple syrup (or use my apple and prune purée)
1-2 large handfuls of fresh spinach (or you can use frozen)
Handful of ice cubes

Method – add plant milk oats and flax and blend on high. Then add all other ingredients and blend on high till smooth and the ice is completely incorporated. If you do not have a vita mix or blendtec do not add whole ice cubes as it may break your blender – just pour the smoothie over ice in the glass.

Makes 1 greedy serving or 2 normal servings.

