Tags

, , ,

Meatless Meatloaf DinnerJPG

So if you don’t eat meat, what do you eat?

I wish I had a £1 for every time I heard that.

Basically, my choice is not to eat anything with a face or mother.

I avoid the

v word

as veganism seems to have such a negative image.

I would describe myself as trying to be 100% plant based but I probably achieve about 98% at the moment – after 8 weeks.

So here’s a meat substitute.

You can bake this in the oven at 180c for about 45 mins to 1 hour in a loaf time or flatter dish – up to you.

I have invested in a vita mix – I love it and use it constantly. It is a very high powered blender. You could put a small child in and it would come out smooth! (Only kidding and not very plant-based).

A vita mix is about £450 so a big investment. If you don’t have one use an ordinary blender or food processor but results may vary.

So here’s a meatloaf recipe:

Ingredients:

Egg replacer/binding:
2 x dessert spoons of Chia Seeds
1 x dessert spoon of ground Flax
1 cup of hot veggie Stock (I use marigold bouillon).

Mix together and leave to swell for 5 mind

In a vita mix (if you dont have one, use a fiod processor if not finely chop all veggies and mix with wet ingredients).

Blend-
1 med/large onion
3 cloves of garlic
3 ribs of Celery
3 small Carrots
1 pack of tomato Passata
Some herbs (dried or fresh).

I used –
Thyme
Parsley

3-4 cups of Brown rice
1 tin of drained and rinsed Red kidney beans
2 tbl so Whole wheat flour
1/2 cup Oats

After blending mix in some optional – nuts (I used walnuts as already broken up). Carrots, cooked lentils, quinoa, etc.

Mix together wet and dry ingredients and place into a loaf tin or shallow dish.

Bake for 45 mins to 1 hour until coming away from the edge of the tin.

Rest and cool.

Turn out. Can be reheated. Serve with a veggie gravy, mash or just veggies. Also good with a salad and a dollop of plant based mayo. (Recipe to come).

